1st Preliminary Primary Report Due April 30, 2020 For Candidates Filing Nomination Papers Through April 25, 2020 to Run in the 2020 Election
The next report due for Candidates Filing Nomination Papers Through April 25, 2020 to Run in the 2020 Election is the 1st Preliminary Primary Report covering the period January 1, 2020 through April 25, 2020. The report will be added to your reporting schedule and must be electronically filed on the Candidate Filing System no later than 11:59 p.m. Hawaiian Standard Time on Thursday, April 30, 2020.
The 1st Preliminary Primary Report is not required for candidate committees that notify the Commission in the Candidate Committee’s Organizational Report that they do not intend to receive contributions, or make expenditures, that aggregate more than $1,000 in the 2020 election period.
The fine for not filing the 1st Preliminary Primary Report by the due date, if assessed, shall not exceed $50 per day for the first seven days, beginning with the day after the due date of the report, and shall not exceed $200 per day thereafter; provided that in aggregate, the fine shall not exceed twenty-five per cent of the total amount of contributions or expenditures, whichever is greater, for the period covered by the report; and the minimum fine for a report filed more than four days after the due date, if assessed, shall be $200.
Candidates and treasurers of candidate committees are also reminded of their acknowledgment and certification on the “Candidate Committee Electronic Filing Form” that the information on all reports electronically filed online are true, complete, and accurate. See, Hawaii Revised Statutes §§11-321(c)(1), 11- 331(a), and 11-340(a).
Please call the Commission at (808) 586-0285 if you have any questions.