Preliminary Primary Report Due July 29, 2020 for Noncandidate Committees
The next report due for Noncandidate Committees is the Preliminary Primary Report covering the period January 1, 2020 through July 24, 2020. The Preliminary Primary Report has been added to your reporting schedule in the Noncandidate Committee Filing System and must be electronically filed on this system no later than 11:59 p.m. Hawaiian Standard Time on Wednesday, July 29, 2020.
The Preliminary Primary Report is not required for noncandidate committees that notify the Commission in the Noncandidate Committee’s Organizational Report by July 24, 2020, that they do not intend to receive contributions, or make expenditures, that aggregate more than $1,000 in the 2020 election period.
The fine for not filing the Preliminary Primary Report by the due date, if assessed, shall not exceed $300 per day; provided that in aggregate, the fine shall not exceed twenty-five per cent of the total amount of contributions or expenditures, whichever is greater, for the period covered by the report; and the minimum fine, if assessed, shall be $300.
Chairpersons and treasurers of noncandidate committees are also reminded of their acknowledgment and certification on the “Noncandidate Committee Electronic Filing Form” that the information on all reports electronically filed online are true, complete, and accurate. See, Hawaii Revised Statutes §§11-321(c)(2), 11- 331(b), and 11-340(a).
Please call the Commission at (808) 586-0285 if you have any questions.