Commissioner Bios & Staff

The Commission is a five member body created by the 1973 legislature under Act 185. Commissioners are appointed by the Governor from a list of ten nominees submitted by the Judicial Council. The appointments are not subject to senatorial confirmation. Commissioners serve on a voluntary basis for a four-year term and may be reappointed for a second four-year term.


Bryan Luke, Chair

Bryan Luke is the President and Chief Operating Officer at Hawaii National Bank, a local community bank that specializes in serving individual account holders and locally owned, closely held businesses. A graduate of Punahou School, he received his BA from Amherst College and MBA from Harvard University. Bryan has served on a number of community boards including The Rehabilitation Hospital of the Pacific, Pacific and Asian Affairs Council, and Teach for America – Hawaii.

His four-year term expires on June 30, 2019.

Kenneth G. Goodenow, Vice Chair

Kenneth G. Goodenow is a graduate of ʻIolani School, the University of the South, and the William S. Richardson School of Law.  He is an attorney in Hilo, specializing in family and criminal law.  Kenneth is a former Hawaiʻi County clerk and was a state representative in the Hawaiʻi State Legislature.  He currently serves on several community and corporate boards, including Bay Clinic, Inc., Crime Stoppers of Hilo, and the Hawaiʻi County Board of Ethics.

His term expires on June 30, 2019.

Eldon M. Ching

Eldon M. Ching is a graduate of Iolani School, Loyola Marymount University, and Santa Clara University School of Law. He owns a store at Kahala Mall called “The Paperie” and is the Vice-President/Secretary of Diamond Head Memorial Park. He previously practiced law at Alcantara & Frame. Eldon is also the President and Director of the Kahala Business Association and has been involved with other community and corporate boards including Na Koa Football Club, Aloha Airlines, and Nuuanu Memorial Park.

His four-year term expired on June 30, 2016 but continues to serve on the Commission as a holdover until a new Commissioner is appointed.

Gregory M. Shoda

Gregory M. Shoda was born in Honolulu, Hawaii and attended Roosevelt High School. He matriculated at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, where he earned a BA in English, a MA in English literature, and a Professional Diploma in secondary education. He was drafted into the US Army and served in the field artillery in the Republic of Vietnam. Following service, he was employed with the federal government, mainly with the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). At the VA he supervised veterans benefits counseling; outreach to the military and itinerant services to the neighbor islands, Guam, and American Samoa; fiduciary services to incompetent veterans, and liaison with schools approved for veterans training in Hawaii, Guam, and American Samoa. Since retiring, he has been a volunteer arithmetic tutor at Manana Elementary School.

His four-year term expired on June 30, 2016 but continues to serve on the Commission as a holdover until a new Commissioner is appointed.

Adrienne S. Yoshihara

Adrienne Yoshihara is a partner with the firm of Chun Kerr where she practices in the areas of tax, commercial transactions and estate planning.  Prior to her career in the law, she worked for Lion Coffee as its marketing, operations and general manager for 13 years. She received her BA in International Relations from Claremont McKenna College, a JD from the William S. Richardson School of Law, University of Hawaii, and a LLM in Taxation from New York University. Adrienne has served on the boards of a number of community and charitable organizations.

Her four-year term expired on June 30, 2017 but continues to serve on the Commission as a holdover until a new Commissioner is appointed.

Commission Staff

The Commission staff consists of an executive director, associate director, general counsel, administrative assistant and elections assistant.

Executive Director – Kristin E. Izumi-Nitao
Associate Director – Tony Baldomero
General Counsel – Gary Kam
Elections Assistant – Sandy Lee
Administrative Assistant – Jessica Richey