#### Commission on Boundaries

In 1862, a "Commission of Boundaries" was established by Act (approved August 23, 1862) providing for the appointment by the Minister of the Interior, with approval of the King, of two persons in each Gubernatorial district for the term of five years.

The Commission would determine and certify boundaries for owners of ahupuaas and ilis whose lands had not been awarded by the land Commissioners, patented or conveyed by deed from the King or described by boundaries resulting from an award, patent or deed. These land owners were required to file with the Boundary Commissioners within four years from the passage of the Act.

The Minister of the Interior could no longer issue any patent on awards made by the Commissioners to Quiet Land Titles, without the boundaries being officially decided by the Commissioners of Boundaries.

In July 1866 (by Act), the Commission membership changed and the 1st Associate Justice of the Supreme Court became the sole Commissioner of Boundaries.

The Act was revised (June 22, 1868) so that no more than one Commissioner for each Judicial Circuit (in no case shall any judge of the Supreme Court be appointed) would be appointed by the Minister of the Interior.

Subsequent acts extended the term of the Commission and the deadlines for land owners with no official boundaries, to have their boundaries certified by the Commission. In 1876, a clause was added requiring the Commissioners to deposit copies of all boundary certificates with the Minister of the Interior.

With the establishment of the Republic and Act 14 (approved October 27, 1894), the President of the Republic assumed the authority to appoint Commissioners and no limit was set on the term of the Commission. With annexation and the 1900 Organic Act, the authority to appoint Commissioners passed to the Governor, but the structure and duties of the Commission remained the same.

In 1915 (Act 79), the Commission was required to send copies of boundaries to the Commissioner of Public Lands instead of the Minister of the Interior.

Finally, in 1932 (Act 8), the composition of the Commissioners changed. The circuit judges of the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th judicial circuits and the judge of the land court for the 1st judicial circuit, became the Commissioners of Boundaries. This makeup of Commissioners (excluding the 4th circuit) is in effect today. (HRS 1976, Sec. 664).

Holdings include: Misc. Correspondence. n.d., December 1863 - February 1903. Box INTI-

# BOUNDARY COMMISSION

<u>.</u>	Record Books:	(use microfilm) Land Office MFL86
	Hawaii	The state of the s
INT1 vol 1 INT1 vol 2 INT1 vol 3 INT1 vol 4 INT1 vol 5	Book A (certificates & proceedings) Book B (proceedings) Book I (certificates) Book D (proceedings) Book C (certificates)	1864-1874 1873- <del>1</del> 882 1874-1881 1882-1914 1881-1914
INT1 vol 6	Kauai Book 1 (certificates & proceedings) Maui (Also Molokai, Lanai)	1864–1905
INTI vol 7 INTI vol 8 INTI vol 9	Book 1 (certificates and proceedings) Book 2 " " " Book 3 " "	1866-1883 1889-1924 1925-1935
INTI vol 10 INTI vol 11 INTI vol 12 INTI vol 13	Oahu  Book 1 (certificates and proceedings)  Book 2 " " "  Book 3 " " "  Book 4 " " "	1864-1882. 1902. 1883-1886 1890-1894 1920-1927

Box INT1-2 | Translations

#### BOUNDARY COMMISSION

HAWAII

3rd & 4th Circuits

Original case files:

### Hamakua

Kukaiau

Lapahoehoe Nui (Lapahoehoe 2)

## Hilo

Kahua 2

Kalaoa

Kukuau 1 (2)

Makahanaloa

Maulua Nui

Onomea

Pahoehoe

Papaikou

Paukaa

Puueo

### Kohala

## Box INT1-1

Honokane

Kahualiilii (Kahua 1)

Kahua Nui (Kahua 2)

Kawaihae 2

Thi of Pau in Pololu

Puanui

Upolu

Waika

#### Kona

Hienaloli l

Holualoa

Kahului 2

Kau

Kawamui -iki

Boundary between Keokea and Kiilae

## Puna

Kahaualea

Kauea

Kaueleau

Keahialaka

Waikahekahe-iki

Waikahekahe-nui

## Fragile Documents