

CURT T. OTAGURO COMPTROLLER

AUDREY HIDANO
DEPUTY COMPTROLLER

Enhanced 911 Board Meeting Kalanimoku Building, Room 132 1151 Punchbowl Street, Honolulu Thursday, March 14, 2019 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Minutes

<u>Board members present</u>: John Jakubczak (MPD), Chair; Kenneth Bugado, Jr. (HiPD), Vice Chair; Nani Blake (Sprint); Thalia Burns (HPD); Kalani Ke (KPD); Arnold Kishi (CIO); Dean Rickard (MPD); Jeffrey Riewer (AT&T); Corey Shaffer (Verizon); Kiman Wong (Spectrum); and Mark Wong (DIT). <u>Board members absent:</u> Francis Alueta (HawTel).

Staff members present: Stella Kam (AG), Courtney Tagupa (E911), and Brandon Sekiya (E911).

<u>Guests</u>: Kiley Breitling (AT&T), Dory Clisham (AMR), Jeff Cushman (AT&T), Reinhard Ekl (RapidDeploy), Robert Fujitake (HawaiiPD), Liz Gregg (AT&T), Jonathan Holland (AT&T), Jon Itomura (Consumer Advocate), Justin Jensen (RapidDeploy), Melvin Kaku (DTS), Everett Kaneshige (DOD), Gerald Kaneshiro (HPD), Glenn Kobashigawa (HawTel), Shawn Kuratani (HFD), Shelby Lewis (AT&T), David Miyasaki (KPD), Dave Peck (EagleView), Stacy Pereira (KPD), Sally Pestana (Kapiolani Community College), Davlynn Racadio (MPD), Tony Ramirez (Akimeka), Natasha Reece (AMR), Geoffrey Shon (HESD), Elizabeth Songvilay (AT&T)., Kenison Tejada (APCO/NENA Pacific Chapter), Kazuo Todd (HiFD), and Doug Tonnemacher (EagleView).

I. Call to Order, Public Notice, Quorum

- A. The meeting was called to order by Chair John Jakubczak at 11:28 a.m.
- B. Public Notice was issued.
- C. Quorum was present.

II. Public testimony on all agenda items

Chair John Jakubczak asked if anyone wished to provide testimony on any agenda item, to please come forward. No one came forward to testify.

III. Introductions

Introductions were made by everyone present at the request of Chair John Jakubczak.

Page 1 of 4

Review and Approval of Last Month's Meeting Minutes

Chair John Jakubczak called for any additions/corrections to the February 7, 2019 meeting minutes. None were offered. Thalia Burns motioned to adopt. Jeffrey Riewer seconded.

The motion was approved by voice vote by all Committee Members present.

IV. Committee Updates by Committee Chairs

- A. Communications Committee Davlynn Racadio
 - Comments from attendees to E911 GTW Conference.
 Nothing further.
- B. Technical Committee Thalia Burns

Nothing further.

- Educational Investigative Committee update Jeffrey Riewer Educational Investigative Committee to convene after Board meeting.
- Investigative Committee Everett Kaneshige.
 Nothing further.
- C. Finance Committee Kiman Wong

Nothing further.

1. Review of monthly cash flow report. Nothing further.

V. PSAP Status Updates

A. Kauai - Kalani Ke:

Nothing further.

B. Oahu HPD – Gerald Kaneshiro:

Nothing further.

C. Oahu HFD - Jason Samala:

Nothing further.

D. Oahu EMS: Edward Fujioka:

Nothing further.

E. Molokai – Dean Rickard:

Nothing further.

F. Maui – Davlynn Racadio:

Nothing further.

G. Hawaii County PD – Kenneth Bugado, Jr.:

Nothing further.

H. Hawaii County FD -Kazuo Todd:

Nothing further.

I. Hickam-Pearl Harbor RDC – Vic Freeland:

(not present)

VI. Executive Director's Report

- A. 911 and Text-to-911 revival update.
 - Met with several media companies for feedback
 - Will issue an RFP for video production and outreach services in April

Page 2 of 4

If you require an auxiliary aid or accommodation due to a disability, please contact 808-391-7971 (voice/tty) or email at Courtney. Tagupa@hawaii.gov.

Targeting July 1, 2019 as start of contract period

• Limiting proposals to \$75,000 per year, with a maximum of 4 years

Targeting general public and K-12 students

Davlynn Racadio: MPD Juvenile Division works with schools

Kazuo Todd: Hawaii FD gives informational booklets to

elementary and intermediate school children

VII. Items for Discussion, Consideration and Action

- A. 911 Timeline update.
- B. FirstNet update Everett Kaneshige
 - Working with FirstNet Authority
 - Looking to work with Hawaii, Kauai, Maui counties
 - Having conference call with DHS Friday, March 15 about training
 - Kennison Tejada selected as FirstNet representative for Hawaii-Guam-Samoa-CNMI region
 - Will have more information next month
 - Thanked Everett Kaneshige for taking on FirstNet responsibilities
- C. Request approval for:
 - 1. 1 Technical Committee member to attend the NENA conference in June 2019 at a cost of \$3,500.
 - Jeffrey Riewer motioned to approve. Thalia Burns seconded. The motion was approved by voice vote by all Board Members present.
 - 2. 1 Hawaii County Fire department personnel to attend the NENA conference in June 2019 at a cost of \$3,500.
 - Jeffrey Riewer motioned to approve. Thalia Burns seconded. The motion was approved by voice vote by all Board Members present.
- D. Grant update.

Patrick Leddy (UHCC) will share update after Board meeting.

John Jakubczak: Thanks to Dee Cook (DOD) for assistance and guidance.

VIII. Announcements

A. Future meeting dates:

All meetings in Kalanimoku Building, Room 322B from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. unless specified.

- 1. Thursday, April 11, 2019 (Combined meetings) *possibly moving date to 18th due to conferences on Oahu/Kauai
- 2. Thursday, May 9, 2019 (Combined meetings)
- 3. Thursday, June 6, 2019 (Combined meetings) *note earlier date
- 4. Thursday, July 11, 2019 (Combined meetings)
- B. Future Conference Dates (3 months advanced approval required):
 - 1. Tricon: March 17-20, 2019, San Antonio, TX.
 - 2. Navigator: April 24-26, 2019, National Harbor, MD.

Page 3 of 4

- 3. NASNA: June 14-15, 2019, Orlando, FL.
- 4. NENA Conference: June 16-20, 2019, Orlando, FL.
- 5. APCO Conference: August11-14, 2019, Baltimore, MD.
- C. Others Nothing.
- IX. Executive Session: HRS 92-5(a) (4) to consult with the board's attorney on questions and issues pertaining to the board's powers, duties, privileges, immunities, and liabilities.

 Not necessary.
- X. Open Forum: Public comment on issues not on the agenda for consideration for Board agenda at the next meeting. None were offered.

XI. Adjournment

There being no further business, Chair John Jakubczak requested adjournment. Thalia Burns motioned to adjourn. Jeffrey Riewer seconded. The motion passed, and the meeting was adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

