Minutes for April 9, 2008

Posted in Minutes

Campaign Spending Commission Meeting
Leiopapa A Kamehameha Building, Room 204
April 9, 2008
10:00 a.m.

Members Present:
Paul Kuramoto, Steven Olbrich, Gino Gabrio, Dean Robb
Michael Weaver – Excused

Staff Present:
Barbara Wong, Tony Baldomero, Grant Tanimoto, Ellen Kojima

Call to Order:
Meeting convened at 10:00 a.m. with Chairperson Kuramoto presiding.

Consideration of Minutes:
Commissioner Gabrio moved to accept the minutes of March 12, 2008.  Motion seconded by Commissioner Olbrich.  Motion carried. 

Old Business:
No old business.

New Business:
Docket 08-01  Mark G. Hyde v. Association for Improved Health Care, Jan Shields, Jim Foster
Mark Hyde and Jan Shields present.

To avoid the appearance of impropriety Commissioners Robb and Gabrio recused.

With only Chairperson Kuramoto and Commissioner Olbrich present matter deferred until the May meeting.

Communication to Commission:
Legislation Update
SB 2204
Commission bill in its original form has been deferred, but pieces appear in SB 2579.

SB 2579
Increases late filing fine, increases tax check-off from $2 to $3, and fines go to  the general fund. 

HB 661
Comprehensive public funding for Hawaii county council elections in 2010, 2012 and 2014.

SB 2202
Partial public funding for prosecutor.

HB 2656
Expands definitions of immediate family to include reciprocal beneficiaries.  Bill has been transmitted to the Governor for signature.

SB 2605
Has been incorporated into SB 2579.

Commissioner Robb moved to convene executive session, consult with attorney, pursuant to HRS 92-5(a)(4).  Motion seconded by Commissioner Olbrich.  Motion carried.

Public session reconvened. 

Next Meeting:
Scheduled for Wednesday, May 14, 2008

Commissioner Olbrich moved to adjourn meeting.  Motion seconded by Commissioner Gabrio.  Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.