SCHEDULE OF FINES!
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HAWAII REVISED
STATUTES (HRS) -
Escheat to Hawaii
Election Campaign
Fund

HRS - Fine to General Fund

HAWAII
ADMINISTRATIVE
RULES (HAR) —
Administrative
Catch-All Fine to
General Fund §11-410

CONCILIATION
AGREEMENT - only
available to new
candidates and
noncandidate committees?

1 | REGISTRATION
1A | Electronic Filing Form (HRS N/A N/A 1 -850 N/A
§11-321)
2-825
1 — Not File
2 — Late File or Not Amend/Correct
1B | (Candidate Committees) N/A *Publish on Commission’s website | 1 - $100 N/A
Organizational Report (HRS names of candidate committees
§§11-321 & 322) that fail to file or amend/correcta | 2 - $50
report (HRS §11-322(c))
1 — Not File
2 — Late File or Not Amend/Correct
(within 10 days)
1C | (Noncandidate Committees) N/A 3 - $1,000/violation 1-8$100 N/A
Organizational Report (HRS
*Publish on Commission’s website | 2 - $50

§§11-321 & 323)

1 — Not File
2 — Late File
3 — Not Amend/Correct (within 10
days) or Contain Right Information

names of noncandidate committees
that fail to file or amend/correct a
report (HRS §11-323(d))

!See, Hawaii Administrative Rules (“HAR”) §3-160-73.

?See, HAR §3-160-74. Conciliation Agreements are agreements available in limited circumstances to reduce administrative fines and must be approved by the Commission at a public Sunshine meeting, and thus, should not
be deemed to be automatic or an entitlement. Conciliation Agreements to reduce fines are only available to new candidates, defined as candidates who appear on the ballot for the first time or who have not appeared on a
ballot for the previous four years, regardless of whether they terminated their committee registrations with the Campaign Spending Commission (“Commission”) or are running for another office. As applied to noncandidate
committees, Conciliation Agreements are only available to new noncandidate committees defined as committees who are registering with the Commission for the first time or who may have terminated their registration, but
who have not reregistered with the Commission for the previous 4 years. Conciliation Agreements and reduced fines will no longer be available after December 31st of an election year. (*Note: The Supplemental Report
covering the period ending on December 31 of an election year will be considered part of the first year’s reports and available for a Conciliation Agreement, although it is not due until January 31 of the following year.)
Committees who do not terminate their registrations with the Commission are responsible for filing all required reports after December 31 and will be fined as continuing registered committees for failing to do so. Further,
Conciliation Agreements are not applicable to fines of $25 or less and will not count towards the two violations permitted by the committee in each of the designated categories. Conciliation Agreements must be approved by
the Commission in a public Sunshine meeting pursuant to Chapter 92 of the Hawaii Revised Statutes (“HRS”).




REPORTING
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Disclosure Reports (HRS
§11-340)

1 — Not File
2 — Late File

1-N/A

2 — $50/day (first 7 days); $200/day thereafter
provided that in aggregate, the fine shall not exceed
25% of total amount of contributions/expenditures
(whichever is greater) for the period covered by the
report

- Minimum fine is $200 if more than 4 days late

*Publish on Commission’s website names of
candidate committees and noncandidate committees
that fail to file (HRS §11-340(f))

1 — 1% time — $500
2 time — $750
39 time — $1,000

* Application of tiered
fines will be considered
in conjunction with
reports not filed in 2A.2

(Candidate & Noncandidate
Committees) Reports Due 10
Days Before an Election

(HRS §11-340(c))

1 — Not File
2 — Late File

1-N/A

2 — Not to exceed $300/day provided that in
aggregate, the fine shall not exceed 25% of total
amount of contributions/expenditures (whichever is
greater) for the period covered by the report

- Minimum fine is $300

*Publish on Commission’s website (HRS §11-

340(f))

1 — 1% time — $500
2 time — $750
39 time — $1,000

* Application of tiered
fines will be considered
in conjunction with
reports not filed in 2A.1

(Candidate & Noncandidate
Committees) Special Report -
Late Contributions Report
(HRS §§11-333(c), 335(d),
338)

1 — Not File
2 — Late File

N/A

1-8750

2-$500

(Noncandidate Committees —
Only Super PACs) Special
Report - Late Expenditure
Report (HRS §§11-337(b),
338(c))

1 — Not File
2 — Late File




(Public Funding)

Special Report - Public
Financing — Post-Election
Reports (HRS §11-433)

1 — Not File (20 days after
primary + 30 days after general)
2 — Late File

If Commission
determines any portion
of public funds used for
noncampaign or
improper expense, order
return of all or part of
the public funds —
deposit into Hawaii
Election Campaign
Fund

- Also, notify Attorney
General’s Office
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Filing Substantially
Defective or Deficient
Reports (HRS §11-340(a),
(d), & (¢))

N/A

*Requires notification to Candidate Committee
by first class mail

- $50/day (first 7 days beginning after 15" day
after notice); Not to exceed $200/day thereafter
- Minimum fine is $200 for report not corrected
after 18" day

- Fine not to exceed 25% of total amount of
contributions/expenditures (whichever is
greater) for the period covered by the report

*Publish on Commission’s website names of
candidate committees and noncandidate
committees that fail to correct a report within 2
weeks from the notice to correct (HRS §11-

340(f))

False Reports (HRS §§11-
331, 333, 335 & HAR §3-
160-20)

*HRS §11-412(b) — any person who knowingly
or intentionally falsifies any report required
with the intent to circumvent the law or deceive
the Commission shall be guilty of a class C
felony — needs a criminal referral

*NOTE: HRS §710-1079 Prosecutors can
charge a class C felony of making a false,
fictitious, or fraudulent claim against the
State/county.

15 time — $500
21 time — $750

3" time — $1,000




CONTRIBUTIONS
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Failure to Timely Deposit
Contributions (HAR §3-160-30)

*7 days to deposit upon receipt

1%t time — $25
2" time — $35

3t time — $50

Fail to File Fundraiser Notice (HRS
§11-342)

1%t time — $25
2 time — $75

3" time & thereafter — $150

Fundraiser During a Prohibited
Period (HRS §11-342(c)) (*Elected
Officials Only)

See Excess/Prohibited Contribution
Schedule (last revised 11/8/2023)

False Name Contribution (HRS §11-
352)

All false name contributions
escheat

$1,000 (against contributor only where
no involvement by candidate) or 3x
amount of anonymous contribution

Anonymous Contribution (HRS §11-
353)

All anonymous contributions
escheat.

(unless committee is able to
identify the contributor, then
return to the contributor)

*N/A to calabash bowls (less
than $100 from 10 or more
persons at same political
function)

State/County Contractors’ Ban on
Contributions (HRS §11-355)

N/A

$1,000 (against contributor only where
no involvement by candidate)
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HAWAII REVISED HRS — Fine | HRS — Administrative Catch-All CONCILIATION
STATUTES (HRS) — to General | Fine to General Fund §11-410 AGREEMENT (*See
Escheat to Hawaii Fund footnote #2)
Election Campaign Fund
3G | Foreign Contributions (HRS §11-356) | N/A N/A $1,000 per contribution N/A
3H | Excess Contributions (HRS §§11-357 Excess contributions not N/A *If Commission discovers the excess, 1* time — Pay 1/3 of fine
& 364) returned within 30 days of contributor will be fined — see 2™ time — Pay 2/3 of fine
receipt will escheat Excess/Prohibited Contribution 3 time — Enforce fine
Schedule (last revised 11/8/2023)
31 Nonresident Contributions (HRS Return excess nonresident N/A See Excess/Prohibited Contribution 1* time — Pay 1/3 of fine
§§11-362 & 364) contributions within 30 days Schedule (last revised 11/8/2023) (fine 2" time — Pay 2/3 of fine
after the general election, then against candidate committees) 3 time — Enforce fine
escheat if not returned
3J Fail to Report Contribution N/A N/A $250 per schedule contribution(s) not N/A
reported in
*If transaction involves an in-kind
expenditure involving an offset in
Schedule A, fine is $250 (not doubled
to $500) because it’s the same
transaction
3K | Exceed Cash Contribution Limit of N/A N/A See Excess/Prohibited Contribution N/A
$100 (HRS §11-351(b)) Schedule (last revised 11/8/2023)
3. | Lobbyist Contributions During a Escheat contribution N/A N/A
Prohibited Period (HRS §11-365)
HAWAII REVISED HRS - Fine | HRS — Administrative Catch-All CONCILIATION
STATUTES (HRS) — to General | Fine to General Fund §11-410 AGREEMENT (*See
Escheat to Hawaii Fund footnote #2)
Election Campaign Fund
4 LOANS
4A | Loan Documentation (HRS §§11- N/A N/A $100 (also if fail to timely provide) N/A
333(b)(5), 371, & 372)
Excess Loans N/A N/A *$100 per violation/occurrence N/A

4B
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HAWAII REVISED HRS - Fine to HRS — Administrative CONCILIATION
STATUTES (HRS) — | General Fund Catch-All Fine to AGREEMENT (*See
Escheat to Hawaii General Fund §11-410 footnote #2)
Election Campaign
Fund
S | EXPENDITURES
5A | Donation of Campaign Funds in Excess of | N/A N/A See Excess/Prohibited N/A
Permitted Amount or Donation to a Cox}ﬂﬁ)litllj); 28(2:5136)(1216 (last |
Prohibited Charitable Organization or ;Z;ﬁfgursemem (HRS%?T?;&)
Donation Made During a Prohibited Period ‘
(HRS §11-381)
5B Prohibited Use of Campaign Funds (HRS N/A N/A 50% of prohibited amount up to N/A
§11-382) $1,000 '
+ personal reimbursement
(HRS §11-409)
5C (Public Funding) Public Financing — 300% of amount to Hawaii Refer to HRS §11-410 N/A N/A
: _ Election Campaign Fund (administrative fine/catch-
Improper Expenditures (HRS §11-434(d)) all) & HRS §11-412
(criminal prosecution)
5D (Candidate Committees) Advertisements N/A $25/advertisement that 1% time — Pay 1/3 of fine
(HRS §11-391) lacks required disclosures 2" time — Pay 2/3 of fine
- Not to exceed aggregate 3" time — Enforce fine
amount of $5,000
1% time — $25
2" time — $100
3 time — $500
4™ time — to be determined
by the Commission
SE | (Noncandidate Committees) N/A $150 per advertisement that 15 time — Pay 1/3 of fine

Advertisements (HRS §11-391)

lacks required disclosures or
provides prohibited
information

2" time — Pay 2/3 of fine
3 time — Enforce fine
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HAWAII REVISED | HRS - Fine to HRS — Administrative CONCILIATION
STATUTES (HRS) — | General Fund Catch-All Fine to AGREEMENT (*See
Escheat to Hawaii General Fund §11-410 footnote #2)
Election Campaign
Fund
SF Fail to Report Expenditure N/A N/A $250 per schedule N/A
expenditure(s) not reported in
*If transaction involves an in-
kind contribution involving an
offset in Schedule B, fine is
$250 (not doubled to $500)
because it’s the same
transaction it to $500)
5G | Exceed Expenditure Limit (HRS §11-426) | N/A N/A 1" time — $500 N/A
2M time — $750
3" time — $1,000
5H | (Noncandidate Committees — only Super N/A $1,000 per violation (HRS | N/A N/A
PAC:s) Fail to Identify Top Contributors on §11-393(d))
Advertising
(HRS §11-393)
HAWAII REVISED STATUTES HRS - Fine to HRS — Administrative CONCILIATION
(HRS) — Escheat to Hawaii Election | General Fund Catch-All Fine to AGREEMENT (*See
Campaign Fund General Fund §11-410 footnote #2)
6 | TERMINATION
6A | Termination (HRS §11-326) | N/A N/A $50 N/A
6B | Ballot Issue Committees All surplus funds not returned to contributors or | N/A $50 (fail to terminate) N/A
(HRS §11-327) donated within 90 days escheat
6C DiSpOSitiOll of Campaign All funds not returned to contributors for Candidate N/A $50 (fail to terminate) N/A

Funds (HRS §11-384)

Committees who (1) fail to file nomination papers no
later than 90 days after date on which nominations for
that election shall be filed; (2) withdraw or cease to
be a candidate (death or disqualification) no later than
90 days after date cease to be a candidate; (3) is
subject to term limits or resigns before end of term
(funds may be returned up to 4 years from date of
election for which the campaign funds were
received); (4) loses an election (funds may be
returned up to 1 year from date of election for which
the campaign funds were received) — escheat




OTHER
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(Noncandidate Committees)
Electioneering Communications
(HRS §11-341)

1 —Not File
2 — Late File

1 -$500

2 - $250 (also if not amend or
deficient)

Failure to Name Candidate
Supported or Opposed (HRS §11-
335(b)(3); HRS §11- 338(b)(6) &
(¢)(3); HRS §11-341(b)(5))

1% time — $25 per candidate
2" time — $35 per candidate

3" time — $50 per candidate

Recordkeeping (HRS §11-324(g) &
HAR §3-160-23)

N/A

$1,000 (if not have records,
receipts, bills, invoices, etc., for
5 year period)

(Catch-All) Hawaii Revised
Statutes Chapter 11 Non-
Compliance (HRS §11-410(a)(1))

*Requires written notice & opportunity to be
heard at a HRS chapter 91 hearing which
person may waive

(Individual) Not to exceed $1,000 per
occurrence or an amount equivalent to 3x the
amount of unlawful contribution or
expenditure

(Corporation, organization, association, labor
union) Not to exceed $1,000 per occurrence
(may hold individual directors, officers, agents
of entity liable)

-May order fines (or any portion) be paid with
candidate’s personal funds (HRS §11-410(c))

-May seek contempt of court with first circuit
court for failure to comply

-May refer complaint to Attorney General’s
Office or Prosecutor’s Office if believe
respondent may have recklessly, knowingly, or
intentionally committed violation

See above for proposed
administrative fines




(Noncandidate Committees — only
Super PACs who have received at
least one $10K contribution or
more OR made expenditures of
more than $10K in the aggregate)
(Catch-All) Hawaii Revised
Statutes Chapter 11 Non-
Compliance (HRS §11-410(a)(2))

*Requires written notice & opportunity to be
heard at a HRS chapter 91 hearing which
person may waive

Not to exceed $5,000 for each occurrence or an
amount equivalent to 3x the amount of
unlawful contribution or expenditure

(Corporation, organization, association, labor
union) Violation may be deemed to be also that
of the individual directors, officers, or agents
of the entity who have knowingly authorized,
ordered, or done any of the acts constituting the
violation

-May order fines (or any portion) be paid with
the funds of the noncandidate committee, and
if the noncandidate committee cannot pay, the
Commission may order that the fine be paid
from the committee’s officers (HRS §11-
410(c))

-May seek contempt of court with first circuit
court for failure to comply

-May refer complaint to Attorney General’s
Office or Prosecutor’s Office if believe
respondent may have recklessly, knowingly, or
intentionally committed violation
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See above for proposed
administrative fines

Solicitation of Contributions from
Reports (HRS §11-344)

N/A

$1,000

(Noncandidate Committee with
501(c)(4) Donors) Failure to
Report $10K Donations (HRS §11-
335(b)(8)

$250 per schedule donation(s)
not reported in

Unauthorized Collection of
Contributions OR Unauthorized
Expense of Campaign Funds (HRS
§11-324(d))

1t time — $100

2" time — $500

3" time — $750
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EXCESS/PROHIBITED CONTRIBUTION SCHEDULE

CONTRIBUTIONS TO AN ELECTED OFFICAL’S CANDIDATE COMMITTEE FUNDRAISER DURING A PROHIBITED PERIOD (HRS §11-342)

or
EXCESS CASH CONTRIBUTION LIMIT OF $100 (HRS §11-351)
or
LOBBYIST CONTRIBUTIONS DURING A PROHIBITED PERIOD (HRS §11-365)
or

EXCESS NONRESIDENT CONTRIBUTION TO A CANDIDATE COMMITTEE (HRS §11-362)

or
EXCESS CONTRIBUTION TO A CANDIDATE OR NONCANDIDATE COMMITTEE (HRS §11-364)
or
CANDIDATE CONTRIBUTION TO A PROHIBITED CHARITABLE ORGANIZATION (HRS §11-381)
or
CANDIDATE CONTRIBUTION MADE DURING A PROHIBITED PERIOD (HRS §11-381)
or

CANDIDATE CONTRIBUTION IN EXCESS OF PERMITTED AMOUNT (HRS §11-381)

Unlawful Amount Administrative Fine Maximum Fine (*only applicable to individuals)
$.01 to $250 $100 3x amount of unlawful contribution or expenditure
$250.01 to $500 $200 ‘ « ‘ )

$500.01 to $1,000 $350 « “ « «

$1,000.01 to $3,000 $500 « “ “ «

$3,000.01 to $4,999.99 $750 « « « «

$5,000 — $1,000 « “ « “

*Applying HRS §11-410(a)(1) — not to exceed $1,000 for each occurrence or up to 3x the amount of the unlawful contribution or expenditure if the
violator is an individual.



